Humanities student listens during meeting

Learning Support Tutors

Our learning support tutors offer support in developing the skills you need to succeed in your degree

Learning development tutors in the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences offer support in developing the skills you need to succeed in your degree – everything from academic style to research methods.

Institute of Criminal Justice Studies (ICJS)

The Learning Development Tutor in ICJS can help you develop skills in the following areas:

  • Writing in an academic style
  • Helping you to make the most of the feedback you receive from your lecturers
  • Developing your presentation skills for talks, seminars or poster presentations
  • Critical analysis
  • Time management
  • Referencing and citations

Distance learning students

We run online drop-in sessions every fortnight on Wednesday evenings for undergraduate distance learners. To find out more, visit the ICJS Learning Development Tutor Moodle page.

ICJS Learning Development Tutor

Gordon Scruton - gordon.scruton@port.ac.uk

+44 (0)23 9284 5743

St George’s Building, 4.04.


School of Education and Sociology (EDSOC)

Our School of Education and Sociology has 2 Learning Development Tutors. They can help you in 1-to-1 sessions or small group sessions.

Support is available for skills including:

  • Writing in an academic style -Planning, structuring and editing assignments
  • Using and referencing others’ thoughts
  • Effective note-making from lectures
  • Tackling your reading list
  • Analysing rather than describing research
  • Making the most of feedback
  • Presentation and group work skills
  • Organising and planning your workload
  • Effective revision techniques and exam preparation

EDSOC Learning Development Tutors

Ian Johnson - ian.johnson@port.ac.uk

April Chandler - april.chandler@port.ac.uk

Find out more about learning support on the EDSOC Learning Development Tutor Moodle page. You can also email edsoclearningdevelopment@port.ac.uk or call +44 (0)23 9284 5203 or +44 (0)23 9284 5244.


School of Languages and Applied Linguistics (SLAL)

The Learning Development Tutors in SLAL offer 1-to-1 and group tutorials, personalised guidance, online support and a programme of workshops.

Support is available for skills development including:

  • Writing in an academic style
  • Dissertation and Project planning and writing
  • Making the most of lecturer feedback
  • Critical analysis
  • Time management

SLAL Learning Development Tutors

Rhiannon Thompson: rhiannon.thompson@port.ac.uk

Cathy Willatt: cathy.willatt@port.ac.uk

Find out more about our service and online resources, book a tutorial or register for a workshop on the SLAL Learning Development Tutor Moodle page. Or email slallearningdevelopment@port.ac.uk


School of Area Studies, History, Politics and Literature (SASHPL)

The Learning Development Tutors in SASHPL offer 1-to-1 sessions, personalised guidance and a workshop programme for all SASHPL students.

They can help you develop your academic skills in the following areas:

  • Essay writing
  • Planning and researching for assignments
  • Development of academic language
  • Critical thinking skills
  • Referencing
  • Organisation and planning your workload
  • Delivering effective presentations
  • Effective revision techniques

SASHPL Learning and Development Tutors

Laura Barclay - laura.barclay@port.ac.uk

Aniela Rose - aniela.rose@port.ac.uk

Contact sashpllearningdevelopment@port.ac.uk or call +44 (0)23 9284 2172 to book a session.


Research skills support

Our Research Skills Support Tutor offers all students in the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences guidance and support with statistics and quantitative research.

You can get help with:

  • Understanding statistical concepts
  • Survey design, coding data
  • Data entry and analysis using Excel or SPSS
  • Writing up your data analysis in a report or dissertation

Bookable session times

  • Mondays 10.00am – 12.00pm / 1.00pm – 4.00pm
  • Thursdays 10.00am – 12.00pm / 1.00pm – 4.00pm

1-to-1 sessions are held in St Georges 4.04. Phone or Skype evening sessions are available by request.

Email or call to make an appointment - stephanie.bennett@port.ac.uk / +44 (0) 23 9284 5065

Research Skills Support Tutor

Stephanie Bennett - stephanie.bennett@port.ac.uk

Get in touch

This site uses cookies. Click here to view our cookie policy message.

Accept and close